SKETCH: “Recollection of Oflag XIII-B” from 1942

Inside the sketchbook of my great-great-grandfather, Gerrit Siersema, this drawing from 1942 was stored until I found it recently and scanned it. Aside from the signature, which I cannot make out, the translation of the writing along the bottom reads, “Recollection of Oflag XIII-B 15-5-1942 — 6-7-1942.” (Thanks to cousin Anje Belmon for that!)

This is interesting for two reasons. One, because Oflag 13 B was a prisoner-of-war camp during WWII, and, two, because the 15th of May in 1942 is the date on POW notices sent from the Nazis to both Maria Wilhelmina van Erp and Helena de Wit — my grandfather Johan Siersema’s step-mother and biological mother. Both Johan and his father were at one point prisoners of war.

Anyway, I cannot make out the signature on this sketch, nor the signature on the notice that was sent to Helena, but if anyone else wants to give it a go and leave your thoughts in the comments, I would be interested to read them.

UPDATE: I took a closer look Nov. 27, 2014 at the POW letters from Klaas Siersema to his wife and determined that he was kept at Oflag IIIX-B during this period. He was called Niek, and the signature on this images looks to start with an N.

2 comments on “SKETCH: “Recollection of Oflag XIII-B” from 1942

  1. Hi Christina,
    You seem to have some very interesting documents! I’m a collector of ww2 militaria, and I’m specialized in POW’s and concentration camps. If you want to know more about it, you can send me a mail. I know a lot about the Dutch officers in these camps. I also saw you have a document from internierungslager Schoorl, I’ve been there last summer, and maybe I can tell you more about that too.
    Greetings from Holland,
    Elias

  2. Pingback: POW letters from Klaas Siersema at Oflag XIII-B to wife Maria Wilhelmina Siersema-van Erp | Digital Kin

Leave a Reply

