Portrait of Christina Kolle and Halbo Kool

This is a portrait of my great-great-grandparents, Halbo Kool (b.1873) and Christina Kolle, courtesy of my cousin Anje Belmon, who in turn got it from her uncle. So now we know where I get my good looks (joking!).

According to digital records on Genlias.nl, Halbo was born in Veendam, Groningen, Netherlands, in 1873 and Christina was born in Oostdongeradeel, Friesland, in the same year. They were married in 1899 in Groningen. This photo, which I’ve lightly retouched, had to have been taken prior to 1943, when Halbo died. I think it’s cute how she has a pillow propping up her feet.

Leave a Reply

