Klaas Siersema appointed an Officer of the Order of Orange-Nassau

 

My great-grandfather, Klaas Siersema, was a career military man, and the official document above appointed him as an Officer of  the Order of Orange-Nassau, which honors selective individuals for their contributions to society through either civilian or military efforts.

I know he served in WWII and had achieved the rank of colonel before retiring. My step-grandmother tells me he also worked a lot with soldiers who suffered from disorders resembling what we now call post-traumatic stress disorder.

2 comments on “Klaas Siersema appointed an Officer of the Order of Orange-Nassau

  1. The Colonel K. Siersema has been commander of the military rehabilitation centre
    Aardenburg in Doorn from 1948 till 1954. I have written a book about that centre in 2006. I found 2 pictures of him in the book. I’ll try to find the scans or otherwise I’ll scan them from the book and send them to you.

Leave a Reply

