Video: What Groningen was like in 1923

I should preface this by saying this is not a video I or anyone in my family created. It is merely footage from Groningen, Netherlands, in the 1923 that the Dutch Institute of Sound and Vision more recently uploaded to YouTube. I found it interesting to watch, since my family lived there during that time. It gave me some perspective (for instance, many people got around by foot or on bicycles), so I thought it would be good to post here.

2 comments on “Video: What Groningen was like in 1923

  1. Thank you Christina Gullickson for the photgraph of the Bike in 1,923. I have photographs of a letter by the secretary of the Durham Cyclists Touring Club dated 1,896 asking an inkeeper for prices for staying at his hotel. The secretary was a Shipyard Owner called Bartram who was also Norwegian Consul.

    So we had cyclists touring the Durham Dales over 100 years ago. For my sins, I worked as an accountant with Tube Investment who owned Raleigh Industries. Palmer was another Shipyared owner who also had a store in Sunderland. He had a bike manufactured under his own name “The Palmer Warship” This biike was only about £12 when at the same time a Raleigh Record Ace was 100 guineas. This was just after the second world war when you could buy a new house for £500.

    I’ll rake the photographs out and put them on the web. In the North East of England, we had very good connections with the Netherlands as also at one time I worked with Burgess Industrial Silencing, part of the Burgess group. We had very good agents in the Netherlands. Long may it continure

    Bill Craggs

    Date: Sun, 28 Dec 2014 21:41:41 +0000 To: craggsytheclown@hotmail.co.uk

Leave a Reply

