Photo of POW at TOST’s Jlag VIII with identification (courtesy Frédéric Turner)

One of the most visited posts on this blog is one that has little to do with my personal family ancestry, but which I am happy to do a follow-up post to per Frédéric Turner’s request. I’ve also updated the original post, where I speculate how my great-grandmother Helena de Wit may have been involved with POW camps during WWII. Along with being in a five-decade relationship with a military man, she also kept a playbill, correspondence, and photos from POW camps. It’s all very interesting to me, and I know others out there are seeking information about their ancestors, so my hope is that this image with identifications will aid them in their quests.

This photo shows:

Tom Sarginson

Bernard Parsons

William Hildsheimer

Walter Hatfull

Eric Van Sommeren

William Duncan

Walter Doyle-Davidson

Tom Sarginson, Bernard Parsons, William Hildesheimer, Walter Hatfull, Eric Van Sommeren, William Duncan, and Walter Doyle-Davidson pose for a photo as prisoners of war.

Here’s some additional details from Mr. Turner in 2013:

The photo of the prisoners was indeed taken at TOST's Jlag VIII (8). I recognize two prisoners. They are standing. The 2nd from the left is Bernard PARSONS captured by the Nazis in France; the 4th from the left is William HILDESHEIMER captured in the Netherlands. I can give you additional information on these two prisoners if you are interested, as well as on the four that you indicate in your comment.
Frederick ANDERSON was born on 5.2.1897 in CARDIFF (Ireland). He was captured in the Netherlands. George HAMILTON was born on 8/27/1909 in DUMBARTON (Scotland), maybe the one with his kilt. He was captured in the Netherlands. Stanley CHURLEY born 24.6.1908 in LONDON (England) was on the liner ORAMA when he was captured with about 200 sailors from this ship. 19 were killed during the boarding of the boat. C. HENDRE must be Charles HENDRIE (or HENDRIC) for me. He is also an ORAMA sailor. He was born on 11.10.1898 in LONDON (England).
Contact me for further information. See also my books and the blog as specified to Cyril MALLATRATT.
Cordially.
Frédéric TURNER

One comment on “Photo of POW at TOST’s Jlag VIII with identification (courtesy Frédéric Turner)

  1. My father too was at Ilag VIII from 1940 to 1944 when he was moved to Giromagny. I have a photo which I believe was taken in Tost. My father was Alfred Boram, dob 27.7.1902 in Watford, and he died in 2002 in the Netherlands at just over 100. I have recently been trying to research his war experiences for a family story book, and come across this website. I’d be interested to know if people recognise others in the photo. I can’t seem to post the photo though?

Leave a comment